Hobby or just a decent shave?

Steve

Boomer Member
I'm new to wet shaving. Became fed-up with cartridge, and I'm glad to get the best shaves of my life (at 53!)
There's so much to play with it can fast grow and become an obsession. have to be careful :)
I think you may have taken your first step down the rabbit hole.

Sig Solo

#WAD
It's usually better to want something than to have it, the quest is the fun part.
Hmmm... Not sure I agree... Having a big and versatile collection to enjoy is a great thing. Picking the combo for the shave and to have lots and lots of options is really enjoyable. The combinations are never ending....
Only razor that I haven't found to be all is made to be is my Merkur Futur. I go for days and build up the 'courage' to bring it out for a shave. But the nervousness that I get when using it always end up with me as the loser. I know when I get more experience I'll get great shaves from it; but for now I'll have to just leave in the drawer...

Last edited:

Charcoal

Soothsayer of the Obscure
I'm new to wet shaving. Became fed-up with cartridge, and I'm glad to get the best shaves of my life (at 53!)
There's so much to play with it can fast grow and become an obsession. have to be careful :)
Same here
I’m just over a year in and it gotten past hobby status. I’m 51. Not many would believe I’ve only started last year. It has been a transformative process. I’ve changed much. I no longer drink alcohol and spend that money on shaving. I appreciate all ways all soaps, razors, blades, aftershaves, brushes, bowls, techniques, and such. The only thing I find distasteful is the “my way or the highway” attitude amongst some DE and straight shavers. A little kindness and modesty with a touch of understanding goes a long way.

Charcoal

Soothsayer of the Obscure