what about shavettes?

Discussion in 'Straight Razors (SR)' started by jaro101969, May 14, 2019 at 8:35 PM.

1. jaro101969

jaro101969 Member

so as my other post says i have never tried a straight razor before (I use de) what about these shavette things??? never tried one of them either would that be a way to sort of start on straight edge?

2. Rowlers

Rowlers Massive Member Staff Member

Shavettes are much less forgiving than a straight. I simply would not bother using a shavette. By this I mean a shavette that uses 1/2 a DE blade. There are other "shavettes" that use a larger blade giving a shave more like a straight such as the Feather AC razors and the Dovo.

R181 and slapo like this.
  3. jaro101969

jaro101969 Member

thanks i didnt know that

4. slapo

slapo Forum GOD!

If you decide to get one, it's good training for improving your technique as some of what you learn also translates to safety razors.
    But like @Rowlers said, they are unfogiving.

I quite like the Parker SR1 and SRX. They work well with short injector blades, too.

5. R181

R181 Grumpy old man

I started with straight razors and have no urge to try a shavette out as I have read that they are less forgiving than a straight razor. If I need a disposibble blade razor I will use a DE/SE for the purpose.

Bob

Rowlers likes this.
  6. Nisse

Nisse Veteran

I enjoy using a shavette with 1/2 a DE-blade, makes me feel like a pro barber :)

7. Nisse

Nisse Veteran

A shavette reminds me of a synthetic shaving brush - will do a great job, lacking looks and personality, a classic straight razor then is a badger or a boar brush - will do a great job, add to that looks and personality

Last edited: May 14, 2019 at 9:24 PM
    R181 likes this.
  8. GoReds

GoReds Über Member

I thought that shavettes were unforgiving in the beginning. And they were indeed . :)