Soundbar

Nishy

Forum GOD!
Staff member
Recent purchase a Panasonic HTB688 soundbar decided to stop working after 8 months. Tragic. On its way to be repaired. Thought I'd plug the gap as it may take up to a month. So ended up buying a Sony XF9000, which boasts Dolby Atmos. My real question is this just a gimmick with a limitation of 2.1 channels? It sounds similar to the Panasonic but not a huge deal of difference. The Panasonic is not Dolby certified. Apologies for any amateurness above I'm new to the sound game. I have pressed the S vertical button

JayGee

Forum GOD!
What hi-fi 2018 award winners are published in the next issue, TBH their review process is reasonably agnostic (occasionally strict price banding can harshly review a great product because its a few quid over the line & grouped in with much dearer competition), they really do know AV.
I would go for whatever soundbar won their recommendation to suit your budget.

MntnMan62

Forum GOD!
I have never really understood the soundbar concept. For the TVs in the bedrooms, the built in speakers are just fine for that purpose. But for a large screen TV in either the living room or basement entertainment room, a sound bar would be woefully inadequate. I would much rather buy a couple bookshelf speakers and a small sub if on a budget.

dadant

Forum GOD!